10.09.2010 Library Research

A.

Reference books:

  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  • Britannica

Books:

  • The book of salsa: a chronicle of urban music from the Caribbean to New York City
  • The Rough guide to Cuban music
  • Salsiology: Afro-Cuban music and the evolution of salsa in New York City
  • Listening to Salsa: Gender, Latin popular music, and Puerto Rican Cultures

CDs:

  • Boogaloo
  • The rough guide to salsa
  • Latin music for children [salsa, merengue, tango: infectious rhythms for kids]

Videos:

  • The JVC video anthology of world music and dance vol. 28

I picked these items based on the descriptions either on the title page or the information from the table of contents. For the video, there was not a lot of choice for me to pick, so I picked the tape which had the closest topic or the country related to New York Salsa. I also choose these items after talking to the librarian which might have the most useful information for my lessons.

B.

Britannica had the most useful information about background information about New York, itself. I need to gather the background information about New York City for it is the origin of New York Salsa style. Knowing the background will also tell me why and how the salsa developed through many years in New York. It is important to teach the students that knowing the past and the background information will help them to understand the concept easier and better.

C.

I used New Grove to look up New York Salsa, but it was not in the book. I looked up “New York” and I was able to find the history of New York musical cultures. This book also gave me the information about different music styles of New York City and how they developed.

D.

Garland gave me the information about general salsa. This encyclopedia gave the background and the development of salsa. This broke salsa into different types and the origin of where salsa came from.

E.

Rough Guide is useful since it gives me the musical examples that I can play for the lessons. Each CDs have different musical examples and the different subjects. CDs are easier to use for the lessons and save the time rather than showing the video clip (though the visual helps a lot more than just listening).

F.

When I searched “Salsa” there were two CDs and when I searched “New York Salsa” there were one CD. The best way to figure out what I can use for the class is to actually listen to all the pieces. However, if I do not have the enough time to listen to all the tracks, I can always read the booklet that is provided for each CD or look them up on-line to see what each track means or the contains.

G.

I was not able to find the video clips that I can really use for the class. I asked the librarian to help me and we found out that Library does not have a JVC videotape related to the United States. The librarian did contact you. I will help to look at the videotapes from outside of school library to see if I can find an example.

H.

Library does not have globetrekker, but has the Pilot Guide. I think I can use the videotapes related to United States, Cuba, and Puerto Rico.